Quick Pineapple Tom Yum Soup

IMG_1974Recipe stage: Trial stage
Prep time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 15 minutes+
Serves: 2+ (About 3 bowls)

I am a big fan of the popular thai dish Tom Yum soup. It’s a hot and sour soup that has many variations. You can make the broth yourself with a chicken or vegetable stock plus lemon grass, kaffir lime lives, galangal, lime juice, fish sauce, and chili pepper, or you can take a shortcut and buy Tom Yum paste from your grocery store…I took the shortcut.

 

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup Tom Yum paste (I used Cock brand, which is quite spicy)
  • 1 cup of mushrooms (button, oyster or shitake are recommended, I used white)
  • 5 cups of water (I think if you used stock and cut down on the paste that could work– but I wanted less salt and more flavour)
  • 3 cloves of garlic, pressed
  • 1 tsp olive oil (or another oil)
  • 3/4 cup of pineapple
  • 15 raw shrimp, peeled, tail on (or tail off if you want easier eating)
  • Extras to taste: Sugar, lime juice, fish sauce (I added ginger as well)
  • Cilantro for garnish (I didn’t have any)

Procedure:

  1. I started by heating the oil over medium heat and then adding the garlic to cook until just beginning to brown
  2. Cook the mushrooms for just a minute or so in the oil (Most people just put the mushrooms right in the broth- maybe that would be better?)
  3. Add the water, paste, and pineapple
  4. Simmer for 5-20 minutes to allow the flavours to combine (I find the longer the better)– you may need to add a little bit of lime juice, sugar, or fish sauce to get a better flavour balance– add slowly and keep tasting until you like the result
  5. Add the shrimp and simmer for another approximately 5 minutes, until they are pink (don’t overcook- you don’t want rubbery shrimp)
  6. Serve immediately with cilantro for garnish

Not bad for a first effort! I also put spinach in mind for a little more of a veggie punch. I look forward to making my own broth someday soon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

